/> Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of ‘The War of The Worlds’ - Alive on Stage! - Utilita Arena

Public safety continues to be our priority. We’re doing all we can to keep you safe at our venue. Please remember we do not permit backpacks or large bags and you will be screened upon arrival. Read more about our safety policy here.  Read more
Coronavirus (COVID-19) update - We note the recent update from the UK government in relation to large gatherings, we are liaising with promoters and event organisers to reschedule of affected events. Read More. When we are able to return, we will be launching Venue Shield a comprehensive industry leading programme of cleanliness which is being implemented across more than 325 ASM Global facilities around the world. Read more on venue shield and we look forward to welcoming you back to Utilita Arena Newcastle.

Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of The War of The Worlds


  • Date: Thursday 7th April 2022
  • Doors Open: 6.30pm
  • Pricing: £56.25 & £81.50

Please note facilities fees of 1.35 per ticket and booking fees apply

Choose A Date


Jeff Wayne’s multi-award-winning masterpiece, touring the major arenas of the UK and abroad since 2006, has had to postpone its previously announced 2021 UK and European Tour until March/April 2022.

All previously purchased tickets remain valid.

Based on HG Wells’ dark Victorian tale, it remains a firm favourite to millions around the world, exciting audiences of all ages.

In 2006 TWOTW was already considered a cutting edge production with six trucks filled to the brim. But in 2022, the production be up to 12 trucks, and with it, a host of ingredients and special effects that will challenge and excite the senses.


Liam Neeson in 3D holography as George Herbert, The Journalist
The iconic 3-tonne, 35-foot tall Martian Fighting Machine firing real flame Heat Rays at the audience.
The 9-piece Black Smoke Band and ULLAdubULLA symphonic string orchestra.
Leaf drops over the audience.
Mixed live in Surround Sound


The giant arched bridge now running from the lip of the stage out over the audience to the front of house desk. 
Three panoramic screens with 2 hours of cutting edge CGI and other content
The incineration of a cast member in full view of the audience.

NEW FOR 2022:

Lighting, pyrotechnics… and other-worldly special effects.
Ground-breaking levitation effect.
The release of deadly Black Smoke from the Martian Fighting Machine

Plus   ‘The War of The Worlds’ author, HG Wells - appearing in sight and sound …and much, much more!

Jeff Wayne said: "For over four decades now I’ve lived out a dream of bringing the true story of HG Wells dark Victorian tale to listeners and audiences from around the world, while pushing technology to the limit both sonically and visually as time has moved on.

In 2019 we launched The War of The Worlds: The Immersive Experience in Central London. combining, immersive theatre, virtual and, augmented realities, holograms and other cutting-edge technology; giving audiences the chance to live through the Martian invasion of 1898.

Now our newest arena production combines these elements within the live performance medium, for an even more unique, emotional and at times, scary experience.”

Tickets are limited to 6 per person.

  • Date: Thursday 7th April 2022
  • Doors Open: 6.30pm
  • £56.25 & £81.50

    Please note facilities fees of 1.35 per ticket and booking fees apply

  • Choose A Date

  • Event Packages
    • Prime view seat in Block 216
    • Access to the members only Utilita lounge pre show and at the Interval
    • A glass of Laurent-Perrier champagne on arrival
    • A Deli style sharing platter suitable for your party size


    If you already have purchased tickets, then you can still upgrade to our Hospitality Packages. Simply call us on 0191 260 6023.